To whom do the "seven spirits of God" refer in Revelation?

Several passages in Revelation (Rev. 1 4; Rev.  3:1;Rev.5:6) refer to the "seven spirits of God."

Interpretations vary. 

To what do the "seven spirits of God" refer?


The seven-fold ministry of the one Holy Spirit as per Isaiah 11:2
65% (15 votes)
Seven administrative angels (or church angels), perhaps same as those who blow the trumpets (for example)
9% (2 votes)
The seven human messengers of the churches
0% (0 votes)
Seven congregational leaders (of the seven churches)
0% (0 votes)
Sometimes one of the above, sometimes another (double or multiple usage)
4% (1 vote)
17% (4 votes)
Other (please specify in comments)
4% (1 vote)
Total votes: 23
562 reads

There is 1 Comment

jonrgrover's picture

My guess is - first three spirits: God the father's spirit, Jesus's spirit, the Holy Spirit.

The other four would be four of these: the spirit of truth, the spirit of wisdom, the spirit of judgment, the spirit of grace, the spirit of life, the spirit of holiness, the spirit of faith, the spirit of meekness, the spirit of prophecy.

The spirits of grace and wisdom are mentioned in both the OT and the NT.

Alternately, all seven spirits could be from among the second list.

For the word of the Lord is right; and all his works are done in truth. - Psalm 33:4