Why do members sometimes appear two or more times in the Who's Online box?

The Who’s Online box has some time thresholds in order to limit how much drain it puts on the server. So if you log in, close your browser, then log in again within the time limit (I think we’re at something like 15 minutes at present), you’ll show up twice.

In short, the Who’s Online box doesn’t know you’re gone for roughly 15 minutes but usually registers a log-in immediately, and it’s not quite smart enough to notice duplicates (…yet).

264 reads